Annual Taxes: July 1st through June 30th (Fiscal Year)
Real Estate: 1st half payment due September; covers July 1 through December 31
2nd half payment due March; covers January 1 through June 30
Personal Property: Total payment due September
If payment is not made before June 30.
You will still receive the current tax bill in August and will be responsible to forward the tax bill to the new owner; due to the new owner will “NOT” receive a tax bill at “ANY POINT” during that tax year.
Unfortunately due to Maine State Law, Municipal Tax Liens are filed in the names as they were assessed on April 1st.
Yes you may.
Cash, Checks & Debit cards only.
No, unless they have Power of Attorney.
No, you will have to visit Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
If you are moving from one town to another within Maine, you have 10 days to change your address on your registration and or license.
If you are coming from out-of-state to Maine, you have 30 days to change your registration and or license.
Necessary documents are required to show proof of address. For example: Utility Bills, Lease Agreement, License, Insurance Policy, etc;
Only within one month is allowed.